Chia seed pudding

IMG_2677Adapted from Giada de Laurentiis

Ingredients:
1 cup unsweetened almond coconut milk
1 cup plain Greek/organic whole-milk yogurt
2 tablespoons honey
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon pink Himalayan salt
1/4 cup chia seeds
1 pint strawberries, hulled and chopped and sugared
1/4 cup sliced almonds, toasted

Directions:
Mix almond milk, yogurt, honey, vanilla, pinch of salt, and chia seeds together. Let sit 30 minutes before covering. Refrigerate overnight. Toss the berries in a wee bit of sugar and the almonds together. Serve pudding topped with the sweet nut-berries.

IMG_2679

I prefer using the metric system on this blog but I was terrible the first time I tried to “eye” the amount for all the ingredients, so I’ll leave them be. I don’t really like vanilla-flavored nut milk, so I was glad this worked out fine as long as I substituted honey for the maple syrup, which made it rather too liquid and not as viscous as a pudding out to be. I didn’t have sliced almonds so I chopped them myself before toasting them in the pan for a few minutes, until they had that nice warm toasty smell. Amber had a sizeable bag of chia seeds in the fridge, and she was just eating them raw before — hence, this for breakfast.

~Jessica

One comment on “Chia seed pudding

  1. […] wanted to try a chia seed recipe without using yogurt, because I love my yogurt, but I wanted to use up the almond milk before it expires (one week after […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

