Udon with tofu and Asian greens

Udon with Tofu and Asian Greens: Cooking Dinner

1447161671516

In an effort to be healthier, I’ve been experimenting with more vegetarian dishes. The recipe I found seemed fairly easy, and I had all the ingredients on hand so it was a winner for the night. I loved how crispy the tofu turned out, though I did cook it longer than the recipe called for. I’m still getting used to the electric stove in our apartment (can’t wait until we have a house with a gas stove!) and so the pan wasn’t as hot as it should have been when I first put the tofu in. I was still able to capture a crispy consistency without it getting too chewy inside.

I made a few changes to the recipe that I think worked out in the end. I didn’t add the reserved pasta water to the dish as I didn’t want the sauce to get too thinned out. Also I used 16 oz of firm tofu since that was the only size I could find at Trader Joe’s. I should have compensated with more spinach as well, so I’ll keep that in mind for the future. In the end the dish smelled delicious, probably on account of the sesame seed oil, and Josh loved it, despite it being vegetarian. A little Sriracha on the side and you’re good to go!

~Jennifer

One comment on “Udon with tofu and Asian greens

  1. […] my sister’s udon with tofu and bok choy, this is my budget version. I had a bag of frozen edamame lying around, so I tossed that in the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

